Is HostMonster any good? Read our HostMonster Review Below! Authentic HostMonster reviews based on support, features, uptime, price etc.

HostMonster Review 63.1578947368 out of 100 19 user ratings

Hostmonster is one of the oldest web hosting company, with an excellent feedback. They own and operate their own data center with excellent infrastructure and top end servers.

Both Hostmonster and Bluehost are owned by the same company. Both of them offer nearly the same configuration, support and price as well. One advantage with Hostmonster is that they offer a special price of just $3.95 per month which gives up to $108 savings depending on your contract period.

HostMonster Features

HostMonster surprises you with the features they offer for the cheap price. Consider these:UNLIMITED DOMAINS, Domain Name, Cpanel with Fantastico, Shell Access(SSH), 100 MySQL Databases, unlimited sub domains, Ruby on Rails(Ruby on Wheels), Custom PHP.INI Files etc.. etc.This is more than what any advanced user will ask for. With unlimited space and bandwidth available, serious webmasters can really make use of the unlimited add-on domains. You also get to choose between PHP4/PHP5.One can safely say that HostMonster offers all the features you would expect on a shared Linux hosting. From newbies to advanced webmasters, HostMonster will satisfy everyone.

HostMonster Discount

Specially for the visitors of WHReport, Hostmonster offer a monthly discount price of $3.95 for three year contract and $4.95 for one two year contract. There is no need to enter any discount coupon, just make sure that you click though this link before you sign up with HostMonster.

HostMonster Performance

Host monster claim to host all their hosting accounts on latest Quad Opteron Servers, backed with backup UPS and generators. All the servers are on 24/7 monitoring. Hostmonster also offer OC-48 backbone connection for all the servers.

We have been monitoring Hostmonster uptime using a real site hosted with Hostmonster and third party monitoring service provider from January 2008. Since then, there was not a single month where the uptime was below 99%. You may check the live statistics directly from the uptime monitoring service for details.

HostMonster Price Value

They offer Unlimited space, Unlimited bandwidth @ $6.95 when paid for 2 years or $7.95 when paid annually. To make it clear, they monitor the CPU usage and do not allow very big sites to host on the server, to compensate for the unlimited space and bandwidth offered. Still, together with all the features they offer, HostMonster is one of the best choices for those looking for an affordable hosting.

Looking for Some Great Deals? Get Hostmonster @ $3.95


Looking for something cheaper than HostMonster? Compare Prices Here.

HostMonster Support

They offer knowledge base, support tickets and 24/7 toll free lines. While there could be a delay on phone support, support tickets are often very fast and reliable.

HostMonster Reviews Added By Users

Good product, support has taken a dive
Site Hosted: http://federerphotography.com  ownership confirmed
IP Address: 152.61.248.51

I've been with this company for 6 or so years. I host a dozen or so domains with them. Their support has always been absolutely top-notch. They advertised local Utah-based call-center with very helpful techs.

A few months ago, it tanked. The chat techs now barely speak english (I assume they outsourced their support to a different country), don't listen to your issue, support times are out of control (3+ hours for my last one), are not helpful, don't resolve your issue, don't take ownership of helping you, etc. I used to recommend hostmonster to everyone... no, I'm considering taking my business elsewhere.

It's a good product for a good price, but the support has gone so far downhill I can't recommend them any more. Avoid! (unless they move their support back home)

Joe, Minnesota on 2016-02-09
Customer service sucks
Site Hosted: http://jvrproductions.com
IP Address: 75.112.142.130

I Have more thant 3 years with this guys. I have share hosting and vps servers. Just one year ago the customer services was GREAT. last months they go from bad to horrible. every time you call expet at least 45min holding time. They move from GREAT to SUCKS

jose v rodriguez, Oerlando Florida on 2013-08-13
Good, cheap, but support sucks
Site Hosted: http://my.personal.site
IP Address: 100.0.46.18

Yeah there are good things about Hostmonster, as long as you don't need any support.

Things break, like backups and logging, which are beyond a user's control. But getting support on these things is frustrating and sometimes impossible. Their techs read the first 1-3 sentences and supply a stock answer that may or may not have anything to do with the issue.

I made the mistake of asking 3 questions in one support ticket, and after three emails on the ticket they just barely answered the first question. Other tickets have gone ignored for days. Simply no response for 3 days. (So far.)

So Hostmonster is good when things work, but when something doesn't work you are screwed. Good luck.

Scott, Boston on 2013-01-09
dont ever trust hostmonster
Site Hosted: http://upnload.com
IP Address: 110.175.249.245

I was a first timer and just like most people the cheap price of hostmonster plans caught my eye. i used the service for about a year until hostmonster without prior notice deactivated my account, you couldn't believe how shocked i was, called them up and they told me i had copyrighted material which was upload by users on my website i immediately deleted the WHOLE content of the website but they insisted that i should un-assigne the website, i told them that i need my emails and they kept insisting that i should un-assigne it. to cut the long story short i told them i will move to another provider they were very keen on that as if they wanted me to do so, as soon as i hung up the phone they deleted everything from my other assigned domains and folders which had not copyrighted material and blocked my emails, this company is a total frustration. there is an old say "you get what you pay for". if you want HEADACHE go for HOSTMONSTER. that is my experience.

Klive, Australia on 2012-07-06
file limitation
Site Hosted: http://exidon.com
IP Address: 201.141.3.35

I am quite some time at hostmonster now, recently I got mail to reduce file from 200.000 to 50.000. they did not mention that in their terms and conditions, neither on webpage, nor in my contract.
the think I like about hostmonster, is support, chat works all around the clock and tickets are answered fast. Take care, if you need automatic backups! Also server response is not always fastest, but I think that is logic taking their prices in mind

exidon, mexico city on 2009-08-24
Great Service, Always up
Site Hosted: http://www.KillNoLimit.com
IP Address: 68.103.162.225

I've been with HostMonster for two years and hosted a variety of sites over that time. I've never had a single problem with HostMonster.

I have called their customer support number a few times with questions and the staff was surprisingly knowledgeable, even when I asked SEO related questions.

I plan on sticking with them over the long term.

Wes Burns, on 2009-03-10
REVIEW UPDATE -AVOID IF YOU ARE....
Site Hosted: http://www.ertekelem.hu
IP Address: 76.127.142.203

Avoid hostmonster if you are planing to have mysql database and over 500 visitiors a day.

The took my site down 3 times without any notice and blamed it on "extensive resource usage" The strange part is that nothing changed on my site script and daily visitors.. Its just their mood when they feel like lets mess with this user.. I assume I am targeted because their "unlimited storage" is getting limited I am using 14GB but the hard drive is at 97%.

It is very frustrating when they take of your site without notice as I was paying $$ for google ads and my site was down so all the clicks I paid for was in vain..

After the 3rd screw up with me I am leaving them for good time to go to godaddy

www.antihostmonster.com

Tuba, Boston on 2009-02-26
Simply the best host for basic websites
Site Hosted: http://mikeunlandphotography.com
IP Address: 98.215.21.203

I have been with Host Monster as a client and as an affiliate for about 2 years now. My experience with them has been five stars from the get go! There service is incredible for the price. The control panel is great and loaded with everything you need, including many popular scripts such as Drupal, Joomla Wordpress ect. Never had an issue with downtime or slow connections speeds.I can't really review the helpdesk cause I have never really used it. I send all my clients that have simple sites to host monster, and I get paid for it! The affiliate program works and i'm proud to be a part of it. I will say if you see a bad review for host monster chances are the site in question is probably script heavy with loads of traffic. If your going to have a large dynamic website, shared hosting is not for you!

Bobby, Decatur Illinois on 2009-02-10
Watch them raise your hosting rate on renewal
Site Hosted: http://1stperson.com
IP Address: 75.10.137.163

I am no longer hosted with HM, having let my term expire. They raised the rates $2 a month upon renewal with no warning whatsoever. Their reasoning? It says in their terms prices are subject to change without notice. Good luck finding the renewal rate. It is not even MENTIONED in the reminder email they send out about the impending automatic account renewal. No price included at all, just a message saying they will renew in 15 days.

James Cotton, Cleveland, OH on 2009-02-06
Online Support and Uptime is Outstanding!
Site Hosted: http://www.windbandfm.com
IP Address: 74.236.254.34

I have been with HostMonster for two years now and recently renewed for another two. I can only remember one time when my site was down in the past two years and it was not down for long.

I just now has to submit my first Help Ticket with HostMonster for a MySQL database issue. I received a response in less than 10 minutes (at 3:30 am CST, no less). The support engineer was extremely helpful and treated me with the utmost respect. The issue was resolved in a mere half-hour.

I highly recommend HostMonster!

Travis Miller, Bowling Green, KY on 2009-01-28
Have a site hosted with HostMonster? Write a user review.

HostMonster Comparison

More Hosting Reviews

MediaTemple - Grid

$20.00 pm, 100 GB Storage, 1 TB Bandwidth. Host Unlimited domains in One Account.

Bluehost - One Plan

$6.95 pm, Unlimited Storage, Unlimited Bandwidth. Host Unlimited domains in One Account.

Hostgator - Hatchling

$6.95 pm, 350 GB Storage, 3000 GB Bandwidth. Host 1 domains in One Account.